That Time I Face Planted on the Sidewalk

My Wednesday morning was off to a great start. The weather at the start of my 7 mile run was the perfect temperature and I felt strong running up the gnarly 520 hill. I turned around at the midway point and started climbing another gradual hill that would take me home. I was attacking that hill and then suddenly, I was face down on the sidewalk. It happened so fast that I didn’t have time to brace myself with my wrists and my face took the full force of the fall. In the second or two it took me to fall, I thought two thoughts: “Please don’t let any running body parts break” and “This is going to be a little embarrassing. This sucks.” When I sat up and touched my face, I realized blood was pouring out of my mouth and since I was in shock, I had no idea if I had broken my nose, my jaw or cut through my lip. I sat on the ground and realized I wasn’t in such bad shape, except my lip and the inner part of my mouth was all cut up. It was a busy intersection but no one stopped their car to see if I was ok. If a fellow runner had been around, I’m sure he/she would’ve asked if I was ok since runners are generally awesome people.

Luckily, this incident happened close to an ER so I walked myself down the sidewalk and into the ER and thankfully there wasn’t a wait. I guess there aren’t a lot of emergencies at 7:30 AM on a weekday? On the way up to the ER, I started feeling faint and nauseous, which is strange since the sight of blood doesn’t gross me out. While I was lying on the bed, I called my husband and played on Twitter since I didn’t really have anything else to do. I sat down and a very sweet nurse took care of me and up my wounds after the doctor decided that I needed stitches. He said I was lucky that the inside of my mouth acted as a shock absorber since nastier things would’ve happened had my teeth hit the sidewalk directly. My two front teeth were pretty loose and he recommended that I see a dentist after leaving the ER. My nose also started turning a little black and it’s a bit sore but not broken. After receiving some stitches, I headed over to the dentist who told me that one of my teeth has an internal fracture and that the nerves could potentially die (which = root canal). I was also given specific instructions to not bite into anything, including a banana for the next few months. Sidenote: Someone brought cupcakes to work yesterday. Try eating a cupcake without using your front teeth. I can assure you that it results in more cupcake frosting on your face than in your mouth. After the dentist, my husband drove me over to the pharmacy where I picked up my prescription for antibiotics to prevent infection inside my mouth. After that, it was time to get a smoothie at Jamba Juice.

Since I was a little slow to respond and a bit dizzy, my husband insisted that I go to work with him so that he could keep an eye on me. Thank goodness he has a couch since I spent most of the afternoon alternating between work email and napping. Smacking your face on the ground is very tiring.

It’s been a couple of days since my fall and my mouth is starting to heal, although my teeth still really hurt. Hopefully the lip swelling will go down soon since I keep drooling soup and oatmeal all over my face and I would like to eat food again. For those of you who are curious, I’ve included a couple of photos below. Don’t scroll down if bloody mouth pictures bother you.

A huge thank you to the hospital staff at Evergreen Hospital for being so caring. And thank you Twitter friends for posting your get well wishes!

Running mouth injury

Ouch

Running mouth injury

I’ve always wanted a road rash goatee

3 thoughts on “That Time I Face Planted on the Sidewalk

  1. Wow that looks painful. I hope you are feeling much better now and the swelling is down. My sister did a similar thing on a run last year. No one had ice packs in their cars. I do now!

Leave a comment