I Run For Oiselle #oiselleteam

On Thursday, August 1st, I received an email welcoming me to the 2013-2014 Oiselle Voleé Team. I knew that the team would be announced that morning and saw a friend post on Twitter that she was accepted to the team. I opened up my email, held my breath and saw that I had a new email from Kristin, the Oiselle team manager. My heart felt like it was going to jump out of my chest and that feeling was immediately replaced with an ear-to-ear grin. I hopped on Twitter again and frantically tried to find all of my new teammates and congratulate everyone. My productivity at work might’ve dropped slightly that day.

Here are some words to describe how I feel about being accepted to the team: Humbled. Honored. Inspired. Grateful. Happiness.

I’ve been a fan of Oiselle for a couple of years and discovered their brand once I joined Twitter. Oiselle is a brand that I truly believe in for a couple of reasons: their amazing product line for runners (every try rogas? No? Go order a pair right now) and the community they’ve built around female runners, ranging from elite athletes to runners like me. Before I discovered Oiselle, I was running in gear from other companies and I thought all running shorts were meant to ride up, that thigh rubbing was just something you had to deal with and running bras bled, ruining your top. Not so with Oiselle, which is comfortable, functional and stylish. They’re a female-owned company that is truly passionate about supporting women as they chase their goals, whether it’s a new distance, a new PR or just getting back out there after an injury. Check out their team manifesto: http://www.oiselle.com/blog/oiselle-team-manifesto.

I’ve been fortunate enough to get to know several Oiselle team members in person and it only reaffirmed the feelings I already had about the brand and I knew it was a team that I wanted to belong to. I wanted to join this group of gracious, down-to-earth, inspirational and badass women. I’m so excited to be able to share my running highs and lows virtually with this group of women spread across the U.S. and the world. It’s an honor to be accepted to the team. I get goosebumps just thinking about crossing the finish line of the Chicago Marathon in my Oiselle singlet.

As one of my new teammates said on Twitter, I just got 250+ new sisters in sport.

2 thoughts on “I Run For Oiselle #oiselleteam

Leave a comment