Holiday Weekend Recap

This was one of the best 4th of July holiday weekends weather-wise that we’ve had in the Seattle area so I definitely spent as much time as possible outside, working on my runner’s tan. On the morning of the 4th of July, I joined the Seattle Green Lake Running Group for a little jaunt around the lake. As you can see from the photo below, everyone was decked in their finest red, white and blue athletic apparel. I ran two laps around the lake for a total of 6.13 miles. Everyone in the group is so nice (and very speedy) and despite the fact that it’s a little bit of a haul from the Eastside, I’ll definitely be back to join them for more runs.

Seattle Green Lake Running Group

Seattle Green Lake Running Group decked out for the 4th of July

I was a little short on mileage for my weekday runs so doubled up and ran 4 miles in the evening, close to dusk. My legs were feeling great so I decided to make this run a tempo run which was a bad mistakes. My shins started screaming and towards the end of the run, I could barely walk. I came home, iced my legs and immediately put them into compression sleeves. I did the next logical thing any runner would do and started researching the difference between shin splints, stress fractures and compartment syndrome. Thanks to the powers of the Internet, I did the one-legged hop test and realized I just have a gnarly case of shin splints. The husband and I skipped fireworks since he came down with a cold and went to bed early.

The next day, my friend and I hiked up Melakwa Lake, a 9-mile roundtrip hike, although at the end of it, my Garmin said 9.78 miles, due to a couple of detours we made. The more mileage, the better. It was a gorgeous hike and the scenery varied from lush green forest to scree to snow and we passed several waterfalls. I love that in Washington State, you can still see snow over the 4th of July (even if it is dirty snow). My friend and I hiked at a pretty good pace, getting our heart rates up and sweating, despite the cooler temperatures towards the top. I was a little worried about my shins but my legs felt fine for the most part. Fog was covering the view of the lake for the first 10 minutes or so at the top of the lake and then it cleared. Here are some photos from our hike. If you’re in Washington state, I highly recommend this one.

melakwa lake hike

The start of the hike: Nice and cool

melakwa lake hike

The start of this hike passes under I-90

melakwa lake hike waterfall

One of the many waterfalls we passed

melakwa lake hike

Some really cool looking rocks on the way up

marmot

Cute little marmot that we saw on the way up

melakwa lake hike

View of the valley on the way up

melakwa lake hike

It’s July and there’s snow on the ground.

melakwa lake

A little chilly at the top. Wore my Oiselle rogas and an Oiselle tank. Perfect hiking gear.

melakwa lake hike

Don’t fall.

melakwa lake

The gorgeous lake

melakwa lake

More gorgeous lake

melakwa lake

Yes, I carried a brownie box in my backpack to the top. You’ve gotta treat yourself every now and then, right?

On Sunday, I hosted a Sweaty Betties meetup event in Woodinville called Hills + Beer, which is exactly what it sounds like. We ran (or in my case, barely ran.. more like shuffled) up and down the steep hills of the Tolt Pipeline Trail. I’m not sure what the elevation gain is (need to check my Garmin) but it’s pretty darn steep. I often see cyclists on this trail and have no idea how they stop themselves from wiping out. I’m too much of a whimp to even think about riding a bike on this trail. I ran about 3.5 miles in the hot, blazing sun and then our group headed to Redhook Brewery for some much-needed snacks and beer. One of the gals in the group ordered bacon chocolate cheesecake and it was delicious! I need to make more of an effort to run this trail on a regular basis.

Tolt Pipeline Trail

The Tolt Pipeline Trail aka “Hills of Doom”

Sweaty Betties at Redhook

Sweaty Betties at Redhook Brewery

It was so nice to have a 4-day weekend. What was the highlight of your 4th of July weekend?

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

