The Lululemon SeaWheeze Half Marathon. Yay!

When Lululemon first announced they were going to host the inaugural SeaWheeze Half Marathon on August 11th, 2012, it took me a couple of minutes seconds to sign up for this race. I’m obsessed with Lululemon (hence the blog name) and the race was super close to my birthday and they said it was going to be wonderful and fun. What’s not to love?

Image

When I signed up, I had never run a 5k or any race of that sort and up until Stacie convinced me to sign up for the Rock ‘n Roll Seattle half, it was going to be my first half marathon. Luckily, I had a blast during my first half marathon so training for and running this race was also enjoyable. The other thing that I didn’t anticipate when I signed up for SeaWheeze is that I would also be training for my first full marathon, but that’s another blog post.

Anyway, Allison (you must check out her awesome new blog) headed up to Vancouver on Friday afternoon.  The border crossing didn’t take too long and although the dude acted like he had never heard of the SeaWheeze. We were making great time and rocking out to Lady Gaga until we encountered the the cluster-f*ck that is 4 lanes of traffic trying to merge into a single lane. Why oh why did you do this to us Vancouver? You did not make a great first impression. After sitting in traffic for over an hour, we were finally on our way and made it to the hotel without getting lost. We dumped our bags and headed straight to the “expo” where we received our flip flops, timing chip but no bib. We then headed over to the SeaWheeze store but all the cute stuff that I wanted was already sold out. Thank you effing eBayers for scooping up all the cute stuff and selling it for 4x the retail price. Next year, Lululemon needs to restrict the store to runners instead of letting everyone in the world into the special store. The Watermelon popsicles were amazing and I wanted to keep eating them.

Image

Post-expo, we headed to an Italian place and by the time we got there, they were out of the salad Allison wanted and breadsticks. WTF? We headed back to our hotel room pumped and ready to rock it in the morning. Watching the Olympics the night before was very inspirational.

The next morning, we walked right out of our hotel room and over to our corrals. Allison was amazed that I only had to pee once that morning. This is definitely TMI but I only pee 2x a day so maybe I’m perpetually dehydrated?

Image

Image

Everyone was of course decked out in all of their awesome running gear, including some of the stuff I was hoping to buy at the expo the previous day (sniff). I experimented with running sans water belt and I will not repeat that mistake in the future (more on that later). Race morning was sunny and gorgeous and once we set off, I had a hard time trying to slow down and start at a conservative pace. I slowed down significantly around mile 5-ish when we had to go up and down a really long bridge. Once I was down one side of the bridge, I thought we’d be turning around pretty quickly but no, we continued up another hill and then back down again. It’s here that I was really mad at myself for not racing with my fuel belt. The water stations were pouring the tiniest amounts of water into cups. When I stopped at the water station prior to running back up the bridge, they had run out of cups and all the runners were drinking out of the same huge ass water bottles. Not only was it kinda gross, it took forever to get out of this water station. My favorite part of the race was running along the water in Stanley park for the last half. I felt great for the majority of the last few miles, except at mile 10 or 11. I started getting really lightheaded and I’m not sure if it was because I wasn’t fueling properly or not taking in enough liquids. When I stopped at the final water station around mile 11.5, I kept choking on the water and wasn’t able to sip it. Having a water bottle here would’ve been really helpful since I had to walk at least 3-5 minutes and take tiny sips of water in able to not choke.

Image

Around mile 12, I picked up my pace and I sprinted at the very end (unlike at RnR Seattle) and finished in 2:17, a couple of minutes faster than RnR Seattle. I do wonder if I would’ve been able to finish a couple minutes faster if I had been carrying my own water instead of stopping at every single crowded aid station. I wasn’t too concerned about my time for this race since I treated it like a training run for Marine Corps. The finisher medals included the “Sweat Once a Day” Lululemon mantra, which I love. There were fruit kebabs and waffles at the finish line although Allison and I decided to skip the huge line and go back to our hotel and shower.

Image

After showering and eating some much-needed food, we relaxed in the sun and wandered around Vancouver. We ended up at Nuba for dinner which was amazing! That night, I met up with my high school friend and it was great to reconnect after not seeing each other for 12 years.

Did anyone else race this weekend?

Some other photos from the race 🙂

Image

Image

Image

2 thoughts on “The Lululemon SeaWheeze Half Marathon. Yay!

  1. Absolutely love this! 🙂 Vancouver is my favorite city! I got engaged at Stanley Park in May, so you definitely ran past the bench. 😉

    Congrats on completing your 2nd half marathon. They are absolutely addictive!

  2. YOU WROTE A BLOG POST!! Yippeeee!!! 🙂 Congrats on finishing this and on getting a PR! That’s awesome! That medal is adorable – but shouldn’t it have at least said the race name on it?!?!

Leave a Reply

