I did it! I registered for my first marathon!

I feel very lucky that I was able to snag 1 of the 30,000 available spots for the Marine Corps Marathon on October 28th. Last year the race sold out in 28 hours and this year, it sold out in 2 hours and 41 minutes.

I’m really nervous about registering for a full marathon considering that I haven’t even run a half yet but I’ve heard wonderful things about this race and think it will be a good one for my first marathon. I did have a fleeting ‘WTF have you just done?’ thought running through my head after I clicked submit but I’m really excited about training and hopefully meeting up with some high school friends and twitter/blogger peeps in DC.

Have any of you ever run the Marine Corps Marathon?

6 thoughts on “I did it! I registered for my first marathon!

  1. Ahhhh!!! Yayyyyyyy!!! That is so flipping exciting!! What an amazing marathon to be your first one. I have heard nothing but fantastic things about it!!!

  2. So AWESOME! October is the perfect time to run a marathon because you get to train in the awesome Seattle summer weather. Every time I would go out for a long training run last summer I would think how lucky I am not to be battered with humidity or 80+ degree temps for my 3+ hour long runs. Do you have any half marathons scheduled?

    • Agree that October is an ideal time for a marathon. I’m a wimp when it comes to running in cold weather (grew up in Florida) and love running outside in the Seattle summer.

      I’m running the Rock ‘n Roll half on 6/23 and the Lululemon SeaWheeze half on 8/11 before Marine Corps. Are you running Rock ‘n Roll Seattle?

  3. Pingback: Random Friday Facts | LuluRunnerLove

  4. Congratulations on registering! MCM2012 will be my first full marathon, too – and I haven’t run my half yet, either!

    Good luck!

Leave a Reply

