Dear Bitchy Shins…

I know that I probably pushed you up hills too fast & too soon but will you please forgive me? You’ve been cranky for almost two weeks now and I would really appreciate if you would stop throwing a temper tantrum and go back to normal. I’ll even promise to continue giving you extra attention with the stick (aka torture device), the foam roller and ice. kthxbye.

In all seriousness, my shin pain was bad enough that I went to a podiatrist last Friday just to be absolutely sure I didn’t give myself a stress fracture. After the very scientific hopping-on-one-foot test, the podiatrist confirmed I don’t have a stress fracture and just a gnarly case of shin splints. He confirmed that my feet are flat and that I over-pronate which is contributing to the shin splints. He gave me some insoles which I used for the first time last week but I’m not 100% convinced I should use them.

Despite the shin pain, I ran a 5k last weekend and sped up to an 8:50 pace for the last mile despite the pain. I’m trying to take it easy this week and focus on cross-training and am continuing to use all the torture crap on my legs. I’m incredibly inpatient and want the pain to be gone asap so that I can get back on track with my training plan. I need to learn patience since I’m guessing I developed shin splints in the first place from pushing myself too hard. You mean I shouldn’t do hill repeats at an insane pace when I’m just returning to running?

If you’ve had a case of bitchy, cranky shins, how long did it take you to recover?

2 thoughts on “Dear Bitchy Shins…

  1. I have had shin splints in my life more times than I ever want to count. I am very prone to them which is one reason why I typically only run 3 days a week. If I catch it early enough (now I can tell when I feel them starting to happen) and rest properly then they go away in about a week. If they are bad, then it can take much longer. One thing that I found that helps IMMENSELY is going to a chiropractor and having the doctor do an ultrasound on your shins. It kind of hurts but it really helped me before. Also, taping up your shins when you run can help alleviate some pain while you work out. Good ol fashioned rest is going to be super important though. Good luck girlie. If I can help in any way, feel free to text me! 🙂

  2. Oh no! I’m sooo sorry to hear that. I’m no expert, but I would ice and stretch like crazy, plus do tons of strengthening like walking on heels and calf raises. If you lay face down on the bed and hook your toes on the end of the bed and pull against the bed times as many times as you can, that helps! You might consider doing a stint of ibuprofen too, and ice multiple times per day!

Leave a Reply

